The EAA is a fully democratic body which consists of various boards and committees whose members are chosen through an annual election process. The activities of the Association are co-ordinated through these groups together with a full-time Secretariat.

The EAA EXECUTIVE BOARD consists of three or four Officers (President, Incoming President, Treasurer, and Secretary) and six Ordinary Members. Each term on the Executive Board is for a three year period. One Officer and two Ordinary Members retire from the Executive Board each year at the Annual Membership Business Meeting. No member of the Executive Board can serve for more than two consecutive terms. The Executive Board can also make up to three co-options each year either to fill the places of elected members who are unable to fulfil their duties or who can specifically assist their work in some way.
Members are welcome to review the minutes of the Executive Board meetings.
In order to contact EAA Officers and Executive Board members, the use of institutional EAA email addresses is preferred for the sake of continuity:
- queries about EAA communities
- queries about EAA publications
- queries about EAA social media
- queries about EAA Annual Meetings
- queries about EAA Scientific committee
- queries about EAA's liaison with professional associations
- queries about EAA external relations
Full NamePositionTerm StartTerm EndEmail
Felipe Criado-BoadoPresident9/4/20159/1/2021felipe.criado-boado@incipit.csic.es114
Eszter BanffyIncoming President8/28/20209/1/2024eszter.banffy@dainst.de36
Sally Mary FosterSecretary8/28/20209/1/2023s.m.foster@stir.ac.uk1219
Esa MikkolaTreasurer9/1/20199/1/2022esa.mikkola@museovirasto.fi4123
Manuel Fernández-GötzMember9/1/20159/1/2021M.Fernandez-Gotz@ed.ac.uk53485
Hrvoje PotrebicaMember9/1/20169/1/2022hpotrebi@ffzg.hr417
Agne ZilinskaiteMember9/1/20189/1/2021zilinskaite.agne@gmail.com52073
Maria MinaMember9/1/20199/1/2022m.mina@aegean.gr65133
Amanda ChadburnMember8/28/20209/1/2023amanda.chadburn@historicengland.org.uk770
Maria TaloniMember8/28/20209/1/2023maria.taloni@beniculturali.it56730
Win ScuttSocial Media Editor6/1/20209/1/2023ws@archaeology.ws59941
The NOMINATION COMMITTEE consists of three members who serve for periods of three years, one retiring in rotation each year. No serving member of the Executive Board may be elected to membership of the Nomination Committee. The Nomination Committee is responsible for nominating candidate(s) for vacant positions on the Executive Board.
In order to contact the Nomination Committee, the use of institutional EAA email addresses is preferred for the sake of continuity: NomCom@e-a-a.org
Full NamePositionTerm StartTerm EndEmail
John RobbMember9/1/20179/1/2021jer39@cam.ac.uk57347
Maria Pia GuermandiMember9/1/20189/1/2022mpguermandi@gmail.com57009
Gitte HansenMember9/1/20199/1/2023gitte.hansen@uib.no58916
Marta RakvinMember8/28/20209/1/2024martarakvin@gmail.com54732
The EDITOR of the European Journal of Archaeology (EJA) and between six to twelve EJA EDITORIAL BOARD members are nominated by the EAA Executive Board to cover the main areas of interest of the EJA. The EJA Editor is a non voting ex-officio member of the EAA Executive Board.
In order to contact EJA Editors, the use of institutional EAA email addresses is preferred for the sake of continuity:
Full NamePositionTerm StartTerm EndEmail
Catherine FriemanEditor9/1/20159/1/2022sapphirecate@yahoo.com52709
Zena KamashDeputy Editor9/1/20199/1/2022Zena.Kamash@rhul.ac.uk65300
Marta Diaz-Guardamino UribeReviews Editor9/1/20199/1/2022marta.m.diaz-guardamino@durham.ac.uk2193
Maria RelakiAssistant Reviews Editor9/1/20199/1/2022m.relaki@open.ac.uk62390
Ekaterina DolbunovaMember9/1/20159/1/2021katjer@mail.ru51777
Eileen MurphyMember9/1/20169/1/2022eileen.murphy@qub.ac.uk57135
Daniela HofmannMember9/1/20169/1/2022Daniela.Hofmann@uib.no4708
John H JamesonMember9/1/20179/1/2023JHJAMESON@YAHOO.COM57376
Clara Masriera-EsquerraMember9/1/20199/1/2022clara.masriera@uab.cat59929
Georg HaggrenMember9/1/20199/1/2022georg.haggren@helsinki.fi53896
Jörn Volker LangMember9/1/20199/1/2022joern.lang@uni-leipzig.de65298
Gonca DardenizMember8/28/20209/1/2023goncadardeniz@gmail.com56169
Paul S. JohnsonMember8/28/20209/1/2023Paul.Johnson@nottingham.ac.uk62713
The EDITORS of The European Archaeologist (TEA) are nominated by the EAA Executive Board and are non voting ex-officio members of the EAA Executive Board.
In order to contact TEA Editors, the use of institutional EAA email addresses is preferred for the sake of continuity: tea@e-a-a.org
Full NamePositionTerm StartTerm EndEmail
Roderick B. SalisburyEditor9/4/20159/1/2021roderick.salisbury@gmail.com4170
Katharina Rebay-SalisburyEditor9/4/20159/1/2021Katharina.Rebay-Salisbury@oeaw.ac.at4542
The EAA ADVISORY BOARD consists of five to twelve persons suitable to advise on the EAA publications and their content on the basis of their standing and achievements in archaeology. EAA Advisory Board members are appointed by the EAA Executive Board for periods of three years.
Full NamePositionTerm StartTerm EndEmail
Eszter BanffyMember9/1/20159/1/2021eszter.banffy@dainst.de36
Philippe Della CasaMember9/1/20159/1/2021phildc@access.uzh.ch127
Zbigniew KobylinskiMember9/1/20159/1/2021zbigniew.kobylinski@gmail.com1395
Kristian KristiansenMember9/1/20159/1/2021k.kristiansen@archaeology.gu.se300
Mehmet OzdoganMember9/1/20159/1/2021c.mozdo@gmail.com395
Christopher PrescottMember9/1/20159/1/2021christopher.prescott@iakh.uio.no418
Douglas PriceMember9/1/20159/1/2021tdprice@wisc.edu61683
Marinella PasquinucciMember9/1/20169/1/2022pasquinuccimarinella@gmail.com57566
Gustavo Gabriel PolitisMember9/1/20169/1/2022gpolitis@fcnym.unlp.edu.ar1375
Robin SkeatesMember9/1/20199/1/2022Robin.Skeates@durham.ac.uk1888
The STATUTES COMMITTEE consists of three full members of the Association appointed by the Nomination Committee.
Full NamePositionTerm StartTerm EndEmail
John CarmanMember9/1/20179/1/2023j.carman@bham.ac.uk2063
Harald HermansenMember9/1/20159/1/2021harald.hermansen@frogn.kommune.no243
Kristian KristiansenMember 9/1/2022k.kristiansen@archaeology.gu.se300
The HERITAGE PRIZE COMMITTEE consists of no more than five members appointed by the EAA Executive Board who serve terms of three years, with the possibility of re-appointment for no more than one further term. The Heritage Prize Committee is responsible for the administration of the European Archaeological Heritage Prize.
In order to contact the Heritage Prize Committee, the use of institutional EAA email addresses is preferred for the sake of continuity: heritageprize@e-a-a.org
Full NamePositionTerm StartTerm EndEmail
Franco NicolisChair9/1/20159/1/2021franco.nicolis@provincia.tn.it645
Katalin WollakMember9/1/20159/1/2021wollak2000@yahoo.com590
Nathan SchlangerMember9/1/20169/1/2022schlanger1@gmail.com2328
Marie Louise Stig SorensenMember9/1/20169/1/2022mlss@cam.ac.uk478
Nurcan YalmanMember9/1/20199/1/2022nurcanyalman@gmail.com57583
The STAFF comprises one full time and two part-time positions, appointed by the Executive Board following open selection procedure. Staff implement decisions of the Executive Board and ensure services to members and smooth running of the Association. Staff job descriptions are available here for the EAA Administrator, EAA Financial Administrator, EAA Information and Data Administrator.
In order to contact the staff, please email helpdesk@e-a-a.org
Full NamePositionTerm StartTerm EndEmail
Sylvie KvetinovaAdministrator9/15/2005 administrator@e-a-a.org4063
Krisztina PavlickovaFinancial Administrator9/15/2015 finadmin@e-a-a.org58782
Katerina KleinovaInformation and Data Administrator9/1/2016 absadmin@e-a-a.org59723
Alena LokajickovaFinancial and Administrative Assistant2/1/2019 finassist@e-a-a.org64014
Miloš RohácekSocial media assistant11/1/2019 socmedia@e-a-a.org65368
Term starts after
Term ends after
Please enter your search criteria to view results