– the Association for all archaeologists of Europe and beyond! Please sign in if you are current member, or sign up for membership if you have not been member before.

The EAA has had over 15.000 members on its database from 60 countries world-wide working in prehistory, classical, medieval and later archaeology. Upon signing in, you can view EAA membership statistics, search your fellow members or interact with EAA Boards and Committees members. For any questions you might have about the EAA, please feel free to contact the EAA Staff.

The EAA has participatory status with the Council of Europe and joined
the European Heritage Alliance 3.3 in 2017. The EAA sets the professional and ethical standards of archaeological work through its Statutes and Code of Practice. The EAA is also committed to monitoring, preventing and addressing any form of discrimination, harassment, assault, bullying or intimidation in an EAA context through the Statutory Appeal and Anti-Harassment Committee (Appeal and Anti-Harassment procedures can be found here). The EAA Communities help define important aspects of archaeological work through constant discussion and consultation with EAA membership at EAA annual conferences and EAA publications: the European Journal of ArchaeologyThemes in Contemporary Archaeology monographs, and The European Archaeologists newsletter.

The EAA awards the European Archaeological Heritage Prize and Student Award annually. The Oscar Montelius Foundation aims to promote the interests of EAA and its members.


  1. To promote the development of archaeological research and the exchange of archaeological information in Europe.
  2. To promote the management and interpretation of the European archaeological heritage.
  3. To promote proper ethical and scientific standards for archaeological work.
  4. To promote the interests of professional archaeologists in Europe.
  5. To promote archaeology to the public, and to raise awareness of archaeology in Europe.
  6. To promote cooperation with other organisations with similar aims.
  7. To promote interest in archaeological remains as evidence of the human past and contributing to our knowledge of human culture and to discourage a focus upon any commercial value that may attach to such material.
  8.  To work for the protection of archaeological remains and cultural heritage, including the prevention of related illegal activities.
  9. To promote friendship and peaceful cooperation of archaeologists.

EAA Presidents

Name Term of office
Kristian Kristiansen                1994 - 1998
Willem Willems 1998 - 2003
Anthony Harding 2003 - 2009
Friedrich Lüth 2009 - 2014
Marc Lodewijckx acting president 2014 - 2015 
Felipe Criado-Boado 2015 - 2021
Eszter Bánffy  2021 - 2024 


EAA leaflet
(Adobe PDF File)