EAA election 2024

The EAA Nomination Committee would like to invite you to consider nominating yourself or a colleague for one of the open positions in the 2024 EAA election.

The chart shows the current composition of the EAA Executive Board and Nomination Committee – positions that will become vacant for the election in 2024 are highlighted in bold italics and include the Treasurer (to be elected for term 2024-2025, to complete the original term of Esa Mikkola (2019-2025), who resigned last year), two Ordinary Executive Board Members and a Nomination Committee Member. Completed nominations must be received at the EAA Secretariat before 2 April 2024 in order to be considered in the nomination process.

Position  Name Term of office                     
 EAA Executive Board                                                    
 President  Eszter Bánffy
 Secretary  Sally Foster     
 Treasurer  Katja Predovnik 2023-2024      to be elected for term 2024-2025
 Board Member (Vice-President)
 Jesper Hansen
 Board Member  Fedir Androshchuk  2022-2025  
 Board Member  Ariane Ballmer
 Board Member  Bisserka Gaydarska           
 Board Member  Maria Mina 2019-2025  
 Board Member  Maria Taloni
 EAA Nomination Committee      
 Committee Member  Matija Črešnar        
 Committee Member  Cornelius Holtorf
 Committee Member
(Young Professional) 
 Marta Rakvin
 Committee Member  Katharina Rebay-Salisbury                    2023-2027  

Election of the Treasurer and Ordinary Executive Board Members

Candidates for the post of Treasurer and Ordinary Executive Board Member must be supported by 10 full individual current Members of the EAA. Complete nominations received will be forwarded for consideration to the Nomination Committee, which will then produce the list of candidates to be included in the ballot. The ballot papers will be sent to all full Members before 31 July 2024. The deadline for submitting votes in the EAA election is 30 August 12:00 CEST (noon). The term of office of the candidates elected to the posts of Ordinary Executive Board Members will be 2024 – 2027.  The candidate elected as Treasurer will complete the remaining year (2024-2025) of the original term of the previous Treasurer (2019-2025), who resigned in 2023.

Officers and Executive Board Members shall supervise, control, and direct the affairs of the Association, its Communities, publications, etc. (Statutes Art. VI.1). In their responsibility to develop and improve the Association, Ordinary Executive Board Member shall, among other duties,

  • take part in drawing up the EAA Strategic Plan and work in accordance with the current long-term Strategic Plan
  • assume responsibility for an assigned area of EAA activities; roles can be rotated within the Executive Board after election, i.e. candidates are not sought for specific roles
  • attend Executive Board meetings
  • promote the EAA in any relationship with other organisations
  • assist Scientific Committees of the Annual Meetings.

For full description of the general and particular roles of Executive Board members, please refer to the files available here

Election of Nomination Committee Member

Following the 2019 Statutes amendment, Nomination Committee Members shall serve for periods of four years, one retiring in rotation each year. Candidates running for a position on the Nomination Committee must be supported by 10 full individual current Members of the EAA. Nominations received will obviously not be forwarded to the current Nomination Committee but will be directly included in the ballot. The ballot papers will be circulated to all full Members before 31 July 2024. The deadline for submitting votes in EAA election is 30 August 12:00 CEST (noon). The new Nomination Committee Member will serve the 2024 - 2028 term of office.

The EAA Nomination Committee is responsible for nominating candidate(s) for vacant positions on the Executive Board, and ensuring a broad representation with respect to geography, age, institutional affiliation and gender (Statutes Art. VII). Nomination Committee Members are expected to look for suitable candidates for election throughout the year and to communicate with fellow Committee members. Nomination Committee Members should have several years of experience as member of the Association and a good overview of their geographical area. Nomination Committee Members must be able to devote time to their task at certain times of the year, including a half-day meeting normally held in spring/early summer.

Appointment of EJA Editorial Board Members

A system of appointment rather than election was approved at the Annual Membership Business Meeting in Riva del Garda in 2009 for members of the European Journal of Archaeology (EJA) Editorial Board. Therefore, Members cannot put themselves forward for election to the Editorial Board but can express their interest to work on this board to the EAA Secretariat, who will then communicate it to the Executive Board, which is responsible for the appointment of new Editorial Board Members.

If you are interested in serving the EAA in any of the available positions, or if you have any suggestions for candidates, please send the completed candidate form to the EAA Secretariat before 2 April 2024. These are challenging times for archaeology worldwide and EAA will need all the committed and talented people to address the challenges to our membership and to the profession.

 Please contact the Nomination Committee at NomCom@e-a-a.org with any questions. If you have any doubts or questions, you can also attend online zoom chat with the Nomination Committee members on 27 February at 12:00 CET:

Meeting ID: 873 6236 1615
Passcode: 7435246