The EAA institutionalises its communities, committees and task forces to proactively and dynamically create networks, meet in between Annual Meetings, actively use their EAA web page, have a recognizable list of members, report and address proposals and inputs to the Executive Board, as well as actively produce EAA policies. In order to subscribe to the current Communities or search its members, please log in as member and follow the links for the individual Community below. As EAA member, you can subscribe to one or more Communities, or follow any of its parts like blog, discussion etc.
EAA Communities are groups sharing common interests, created top-down or bottom-up for a renewable period (usually three years), which organise sessions or round tables at each EAA Annual Meeting. In contrast to this, an EAA Task Force is created for a limited period (usually one year) in order to achieve a particular result (formulate a policy, develop a standard, create an inventory, etc.) while a Committee is stipulated in EAA Statutes.

EAA Communities and Task Forces are regulated by the EAA Handbook part 4.1 Regulation on non-statutory Communities and Task Forces.

Creation of aN EAA Community or Task Force

An EAA Community or Task Force is created by EAA Executive Board action, either as a result of a proposal being accepted by the Annual Membership Business Meeting or on its own initiative. The proposal must contain a statement that articulates the proposed Communities' or Task Forces' area of concern, the needs it will address, the products, services or activities it will deliver, the resources required to do so and the way these will be obtained, as well as a proposal for a chairperson of the Community or Task Force respectively or a procedure for selecting and for rotating the chair of a Community. A new Community proposal must be submitted for the consideration by the EAA Executive Board through this form before 1 February each year.

The below conditions apply to approved Communities and Task forces:

  • Community chairpersons, members, and advisors must maintain current membership in EAA. Communities may consult with non-members for their special expertise, but such non-members may not formally be part of the Community
  • Individuals who are regular Community members or chairpersons (not ex officio) are limited to simultaneous service on two communities.
  • The usual terms of Community chairs are three years, starting and ending at Annual Meetings. The Board can appoint chairs to shorter or longer terms as circumstances warrant, and chairs may be appointed to more than one term.
  • A Community's composition is typically spelled out in its terms of reference. Under special circumstances (such as a temporary increase in the community's workload or the need for sitting members to withdraw from the community's deliberations), the President, in consultation with the community chair, may appoint additional members not to exceed half the number specified in the charge.
  • The community chair is ordinarily appointed from existing community members to serve a term starting and ending at Annual Meetings. The usual term of a community chair is three years.
  • Terms of Community‚Äôs chairpersons and members are normally coextensive with that of the Community.
  • A Community chair may resign at any time or be removed for cause by the President with the approval of the Board. Should a vacancy occur during a term, a replacement appointment is made to complete the vacated term.
  • Any Board member who serves on a Community does so as an ex officio member, with voice but without vote, including the Board liaison position.
  • No new chairpersons or members will be appointed to Communities that will terminate by the next Annual Meeting.