Nominations for the 2023 European Archaeological Heritage Prize, with full citations and using the form, must be received by the EAA Secretariat at before 1 July 2023.

Heritage Prize form
(Microsoft Word Document)

The European Association of Archaeologists instituted the European Archaeological Heritage Prize in 1999. An independent Committee awards the Prize annually for an outstanding contribution to the generation of archaeological heritage knowledge and its dissemination, and to the protection, presentation and enhancement of the European archaeological heritage.

As of 2018, nominations for the Prize are received in either of two categories:

  • Individual category for an outstanding scholarly contribution or personal involvement,
  • Institutional category for local, regional, national or international initiatives, long- or short-term, which contribute to the preservation and presentation of European archaeological heritage beyond the normal duties of the institution.

The same nomination form is used for both categories, with a different emphasis in the evaluated criteria.

The major evaluation criteria – recommended to be addressed in the application form – are as follows:

1. Scholarly (academic contribution)
2. Societal (contribution to generation of community values based on heritage)
3. Heritage (achievements within heritage protection / management / conceptual development)
4. Political (political level impact to further the standing of archaeological heritage)

The Committee will discuss all serious proposals for the Prize. No self-nominations are accepted. Self-nominations (institutional category) clarification: if the potential nominee is directly employed by the nominator in the particular project (i.e. the project is the intellectual copyright of both the nominator and nominee), then the nomination is considered as self-nomination and cannot be accepted.

Nominations may be made by any of the following:

  • Members of the Association (all membership categories)
  • Professors and heads of departments of archaeology at European universities and institutes
  • Directors of governmental heritage management organisations and agencies in European countries (members of the Council of Europe)
  • Non-governmental archaeological, heritage, and professional organisations in European countries.

The 2023 European Archaeological Heritage Prize will be awarded during the Opening Ceremony of the 29th EAA Annual Meeting in Belfast, Northern Ireland, on 30 August 2023. The awarded candidate(s) are expected to attend the Ceremony in person and to give a very brief presentation of their work (up to 5 minutes). Up to two honorary mentions could also be announced for each category at the Opening Ceremony of the 29th EAA Annual Meeting and will receive the same publicity as the winner(s).


2023: Fedir Androshchuk and Sociedad de Ciencias Aranzadi, honorary mention to Arturo Ruiz Rodríguez and the International Organising Team of the First Kings of Europe exhibition
2022: Sophia Labadi and AVASA/IIMAS - Engaging youngsters in cultural heritage: Urkesh One-on One program
2021: Laurajane Smith, Citizens Committee of Ierapetra and SITAR – Sistema Informativo Territoriale Archeologico di Roma / Geographic Archaeological Information System of Rome; honorary mention to West Dunbartonshire Council
2020: Gilly Carr and REMAINS of Greenland program and network; honorary mention to SARAT (Safeguarding Archaeological Assets of Turkey) Project and SPLASHCOS (Submerged Prehistoric Archaeology and Landscapes of the Continental Shelf)
2019: Osman Kavala and Fundación Catedral Santa María, Vitoria-Gasteiz, Euskadi, Spain
2018: Ivan Pavlů and Francisco Javier Sánchez-Palencia Ramos
2017: Unità di Crisi e di Coordinamento Regionale Marche del Ministero dei beni e delle attività culturali e del turismo
2016: Unité d'Archéologie de la Ville de Saint-Denis and dr. Caroline Sturdy Colls
2015: María Ángeles Querol Fernández and Martin Oswald Hugh Carver
2014: Marie Louise Stig Sørensen and Erzsébet Jerem
2013: Daniel Thérond, former Head of Department of the Culture, Heritage and Diversity Department, Council of Europe and Vincent Gaffney

2012: Willem J.H. Willems, Dean of the Faculty of Archaeology, University of Leiden, Netherlands
2011: Girolamo Ferdinando, UK and Francesco Pinto, Italy
2010: David John Breeze, Scotland
2009: Ulrich Ruoff, Switzerland
2008: Jean-Paul Demoule, France
2007: Siegmar von Schnurbein, Germany
2006: John Coles, UK
2005: Kristian Kristiansen, Sweden
2004: Illicit Antiquities Research Centre at the McDonald Institute at University of Cambridge
2003: Viktor Trifonov, Institute of Material Culture, Russian Academy of Sciences in Sankt Petersburg
2002: Henry Cleere, ICOMOS Paris
2001: Otto Braasch, member of the Aerial Archaeological Group (AARG), Germany
2000: Margareta Biörnstad, former state antiquarian, Sweden
1999: M. Carrilho, Minister of Culture from Portugal