EAA Book Prize 2023

The EAA annually awards the EAA Book Prize to honour recent publications by EAA Members. By the 28 February 2023 deadline, we received altogether 49 nominations. The Book Prize selection committee shortlisted ten publications, which the committee will further evaluate. The winning title will be announced at the Opening Ceremony of the 29th EAA Annual Meeting in Belfast, Northern Ireland.

Titles shortlisted for the EAA Book Prize 2023

Routledge Handbook of Archaeothanatology
Christopher Knusel - Eline Schotsmans

In Search of the Labyrinth. The Cultural Legacy of Minoan Crete
Nicoletta Momigliano
Bloomsbury Publishing


Doggerland. Lost World under the North Sea
Luc Amkreutz - Sasja van der Vaart-Verschoof
Sidestone Press

Transhumance and the Making of Ireland’s Uplands, 1550-1900.
Eugene Costello
Woodbridge: Boydell & Brewer

Heritage Futures: Comparative Approaches to Natural and Cultural Heritage Practices
Rodney Harrison, Caitlin DeSilvey, Cornelius Holtorf, Sharon Macdonald, Nadia Bartolini, Esther Breithoff, Harald Fredheim, Antony Lyons, Sarah May, Jennie Morgan, and Sefryn Penrose
UCL Press

Secular Byzantine Women. Art, Archaeology, and Ethnography of Female Material Culture from Late Roman to Post-Byzantine Times
Sophia Germanidou

First Kings of Europe. From Farmers to Rulers in Prehistoric Southeastern Europe
Atilla Gyucha - William A. Parkinson
Cotsen Institute of Archaeology Press

Updating Neanderthals: Understanding Behavioural Complexity in the Late Middle Palaeolithic
Francesca Romagnoli, Florent Rivals, Stefano Benazzi

Picts: Scourge of Rome, Rulers of the North
Gordon Noble and Nicholas Evans
Birlinn Ltd

Up in the Ice Age: Archaeological and Fossil Evidence for the Lived Lives of Plio-Pleistocene Children
April Nowell