Nominations for the 2017 European Heritage Prize, with full citations and using the pdf form, must be received by the EAA Secretariat at before 1 June 2017.

Heritage Prize form
(Adobe PDF File)

The European Association of Archaeologists instituted the European Archaeological Heritage Prize in 1999. An independent committee awards the prize annually to an individual, institution, (local or regional) government or a (European or international) officer or body for an outstanding contribution to the protection and presentation of the European archaeological heritage. In principle, this can be any contribution that is outstanding and of European scope or importance, it does not have to be a scientific contribution. The prize consists of a work of art and a diploma, without any monetary payment. The recipient of the European Archaeological Heritage Prize is announced at the Opening Ceremony of the EAA Annual Meeting.

Nominations may be made by any of the following:

  • Members of the Association (all grades of membership);
  • Professors and heads of departments of archaeology in European universities and institutes;
  • Directors of governmental heritage management organisations and agencies in European countries (members of the Council of Europe);
  • Non-governmental archaeological, heritage, and professional organisations in European countries.

L’Unité d'archéologie de la ville de Saint-Denis and dr. Caroline Sturdy Colls
2015: María Ángeles Querol Fernández and Martin Oswald Hugh Carver

2014: Marie Louise Stig Sørensen and Erzsébet Jerem
2013: M. Daniel Thérond, former Head of Department of the Culture, Heritage and Diversity Department, Council of Europe and Professor Vincent Gaffney

2012: Professor Willem J.H. Willems, Dean of the Faculty of Archaeology, University of Leiden, Netherlands

2011: Dr. Girolamo Ferdinando, UK and Avvocato Francesco Pinto, Italy
2010: David John Breeze, Scotland
2009: Ulrich Ruoff, Switzerland
2008: Jean-Paul Demoule, France
2007: Prof. Siegmar von Schnurbein, Germany
2006: John Coles, UK
2005: Kristian Kristiansen, Sweden
2004: Illicit Antiquities Research Centre at the McDonald Institute at University of Cambridge
2003: Dr. Viktor Trifonov, Institute of Material Culture, Russian Academy of Sciences in Sankt Petersburg
2002: Dr. Henry Cleere, ICOMOS Paris
2001: Dr. Otto Braasch, member of the Aerial Archaeological Group (AARG), Germany
2000: Dr Margareta Biörnstad, former state antiquarian, Sweden
1999: Prof. dr. M.M. Carrilho, Minister of Culture from Portugal